Oct. 5, 2008

7 Oct

11:30 am

Starbucks

1 tall nonfat latte

1 reduced-fat cinnamon coffee cake

I woke up at 9 am for a 9:30 softball game and arrived five minutes late, which meant I had to be subbed in for someone who actually showed up on time. Doing my best Kosuke Fukudome imitation, I promptly struck out on my one pinch-hit at-bat.

I want to talk about Starbucks and their campaign to keep America fat. I went to a Starbucks once and saw a giant container of regular coffee cakes that just arrived from the delivery guy. The nutritional information printed on the packaging was not pretty: 450 calories and half your daily fat intake in one pastry. The reduced-fat version is about 300 calories and 25% of your daily fat intake. So eating the reduced-fat version is like smoking cigarettes over crack. Neither are meant to be healthy, but one won’t kill you as fast.

Starbucks’ nutritional information

 

12:30 pm

My parent’s place

Dduk guk

turnip kim chee

Mmm, nothing like a steaming bowl of hot soup on a warm Sunday afternoon. I usually go to my parents on Sundays, so that will be a good chance to talk about Korean food.

Dduk guk is a rice cake soup that’s traditionally eaten on Korean New Years. It’s not really a special occasion food anymore and my mom just made it the day before just because she craved it. If you’re wondering what the rice cakes taste like, it taste like nothing. It does add a lot of heft to the soup. Traditionally, there are 30 cakes meant to symbolize good luck. I didn’t count how many were in there, which is par for a Cubs fan. The guk is beef broth that’s been clarified of fat and solids. Normally, a brisket is used for the broth, but my mom used leftover spareribs and that’s what those chunks of meat are. Strips of eggs cooked like an omelet are also a typical garnish. My mom just dropped a whole one in so it would cook in the broth. 

 

2 pm

1 white peach

2:45 pm

1 oreo cookie, 1 can of Sierra Mist

My parents ran out of milk, so I drank a can of Sierra Mist instead.

 

6 pm

My parent’s place

tonkatsu

side of vegetables

1 bowl of rice

Again! My family was actually supposed to go to my aunt’s birthday dinner in Irvine, but it was cancelled due to an illness in the family. So my mom decided to make a special-occasion dinner for the family. Guess what? It was the same thing I ate 24 hours before, but I’m not going to complain too much about being forced to eat a dish that I previously described as near-perfect, since it’s deep-fried and made out of pig.

Tonkatsu was originally created by the Japanese in the 19th century after the country was forced to open up to Western nations. The deep-fried steaks was supposed to mirror European schnitzels. It has since been embraced by Koreans like no other Japanese food. You can find hubcap-sized ones in Koreatown, much larger than the daintier versions from Japanese places. My mom didn’t even know that tonkatsu has Japanese roots. She didn’t really care to know that either, since there’s a cultural rivalry between the two nations. And I didn’t really care that I ate it two days in a row. I also packed 3 pieces as leftovers, so tonkatsu will make one more appearance on this blog. I can also feel my heart struggling to pump all the fried Japanese breadcrumbs through my circulatory system.

One Response to “Oct. 5, 2008”

  1. helen October 9, 2008 at 2:17 pm #

    yummm dduk guk and tonkatsu! maybe i should tell my mom to make some for me… yummers🙂 korean food’s the best!
    glad you started this blog!

Leave a Reply

