Oct. 18, 2008

21 Oct

9 am

Marie Callendar’s

1 slice of lemon meringue pie

I finally finished the pie I got from Marie Callendar’s on Wednesday.

 

1 pm

Al Wazir Chicken

1 chicken shawerma plate

1 bottle of diet peach Snapple

This is the one place in my neighborhood where I go to so often, I have a usual. When I walk in, the two cooks in the back start slicing away at the giant cylinder of roast chicken before I order. Al Wazir is essentially a Zankou Chicken knockoff. If you’re not familiar with Los Angeles, Zankou is a popular Middle Easter roast chicken chain most notable for a pungent garlic paste and as of two years ago, matricide

Al Wazir Chicken

6051 Hollywood Blvd.

Los Angeles, CA 90028

323-856-0660

 

3:45 pm

Robek’s

1 pina koolada smoothie

The only reason I got this was because I heard Rupert Holmes’ “Pina Colada Song” earlier and I couldn’t fight this craving. Would’ve been better with rum.

 

7 pm

Morningstar Veggie Corn Dogs

2 glasses of water

For some reason, I usually buy veggie meat options at the groceries. It’s not for any dietary reasons. Maybe I have no confidence in my cooking ability and think I’ll make myself sick by undercooking corn dogs. Even if hot dogs are normally pre-cooked.

I’d like to take this opportunity to write a quick tribute to my favorite Motown singer, Levi Stubbs of the Four Tops, who passed away on Friday. Singing in a rough baritone, Stubbs was the rawest of the Motown singers. The team of Holland-Dozier-Holland, the Four Tops’ primary songwriters, provided the perfect songs for Stubbs’ emotional style, with wistful songs that looked back at failed relationships like a CSI investigator at a crime scene. Eddie Holland wrote like he had his heart broken one too many times and Stubbs belted out the songs like his heart was breaking at that very moment. On “Baby I Need Your Loving,” Stubbs gently asks for a girl’s love, then begs as if his life depends on it. “7 Rooms of Gloom” might be the most depressing soul song ever. On “Bernadette,” Stubbs literally tries to grab the titular girl with his plaintive wails. And Stubbs turned the buoyant pop song, “I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch),” into one of the most desperate love songs ever. RIP to one of the great, honest singers in music.

Leave a Reply

