Dec. 2, 2009

2 Dec

9:30 am

1 bowl of Reese’s Puffs

12:20 pm

Best Fish Taco In Enseneda

2 fish tacos

1 shrimp taco

1 horchata

Ah hubris. It’s amused me to no end to watch my sports heroes fall flat on their ass and get their comeupptance due to hubris. Tiger Woods cheating on his smoking hot wife for some hussy from Tool Academy? Hilarious in it’s sheer stupidity. Charlie Weis’ “schematic advantage” leading to his firing? What a schmuck. Jay Cutler? Fuck, I’m a Bears fan. I hope you catch herpes and swine flu, Cutler. I’m also sending a couple of “fuck you’s” to Brett Favre and A-Rod, for depriving me joy as a sports fan from laughing at your failings. How dare you succeed spectacularly.

Which brings me to a Los Feliz taco stand who calls itself  “The Best Fish Taco In Enseneda.” Subtle, you think? If I had to equate this place to a level of sports-hubris, it’d be on par with Rex Ryan’s New York Jets. They have just enough good moments to not laugh the place off entirely. I should point out that I have actually never been to Enseneda, so I can’t be an authoritative voice on this. Doesn’t mean I can’t try like those Holiday Inn commercials. I should start by saying that the decor looks like a place where Sammy Hagar exploded on it. Cabo Wabo! There’s only 2 things on the menu, a fish taco and a shrimp taco. This place is inconsistent as hell. If the tacos are fried properly, ie, with a light coating of batter fried in oil that’s hot enough, it’s pretty good. Sometimes though, I think the oil isn’t hot enough and that turns the tacos into heavy, leaden messes that soak up too much oil. Today’s taco mirrored that. I had 1 decent fish taco, another that was too greasy, and a good shrimp taco that was better than my previous visit (when I had two great fish tacos and a horrible shrimp one)

There’s also a massive salsa bar. Most of them are labeled “hot,” but none are that spicy. The mango one is probably the best one. The mild actually has just as much kick, but that’s because it’s saltier. All drinks are a $1. It’s a rip-off if you get a can of soda, but the house-made horchata’s a good deal.

5 pm

10-15 pieces of Trader Joe’s sea salt pita chips

8:45 pm

Staples Center

1 Philly cheese steak

1 large Bud Light

Why did I chose to eat at the Staples Center? $19 got me a completely flavorless cheesesteak and a large beer. Blah. The only worthwhile thing to eat at Staples Center if you’re not one of the moneyed folks in the suites is garlic fries. They crush garlic all over the french fries and it’s a highly satisfying oily mass of potatoes.

I went to the Clippers-Rockets game and let me tell you, outside of New Jersey, there is no experience more depressing in the NBA. Seats are half-full and even the die-hard fans who actually own Clipper gears could give a shit. I sat next to a real Clipper fan who was getting visibly upset by the team’s poor play. But with 3 minutes left, he sighed, accepted his team’s fate and left with his son, who regretfully is being raised in a Clipper household. It was kinda touching to see the father-son outing if I didn’t know that the kid was in for a lifetime of pain and suffering following a loser basketball team. You do know that the Lakers play in LA too, right? Anyway, the Clippers lost by 17 points. Fitting.

Also, here’s the obligatory link to the Donald Sterling article that shows how evil he truly is.

1 am

Golden Gopher

1 Stella Artois

1 shot of Wild Turkey

How can I turn down a $3 shot of cheap bourbon that I didn’t pay for. Thanks Kim!

Leave a Reply

