Dec. 16, 2009

16 Dec

9:30 am

1 bowl of Total Raisin Bran

1:30 pm

Magee’s

French dip sandwich

side of macaroni n’ cheese

1 large strawberry lemonade

This was my first full meal in 23 1/2 hours, so I ate everything in this picture in about 15 minutes. That includes that big bowl of beef juice. Comforting. In all my years of going to the Farmer’s Market in Los Angeles, I’ve never eaten at Magee’s because they only accept cash despite a rather pricey menu, which is an annoyingly archaic concept like separate water fountains for colored folks. After eating here, I didn’t really miss out beforehand. Everything was bland, but at least the serving size was huge. This lunch got delayed because my former co-workers got into a fender-bender in the parking lot. The guy who backed into my friend’s car looked exactly like Scott Storch, post-bankruptcy. Needless to say, his actions after the accident matched his look. How about you check your rear-view mirrors before backing up, douche-hole.

6:45 pm

Hae Jang Chon

all-you-can-eat meat platter (pork belly, 1 squid)

kimchee

Pacheon (Korean kimchee pancake)

kong namul (bean sprouts)

1 24 oz. bottle of Hite beer

It’s probably best that I don’t have a picture of this meal. My dinner companion gave the following glowing review of Hae Jang Chon; “It’s good, but it gave me a run of diarrhea.” Food that produces a liquid stream of feces? Neat! Now I’m the type of eater who likes his steak rare, burgers medium rare and eggs cooked right at 158 degrees. In other words, I’ll willingly risk sickness for good food. This place was a block from my friend’s place and she said the food was tasty, so why not. A 30-minute bathroom time-out is a decent trade-off. I can finish reading The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo while I’m in there. Hae Jang Chon has a giant stone tablet on the table where you cook all kinds of meat, kimchee, vegetables and pancakes into one unholy concoction. That tablet is specifically designed to not drain any fat away. And it’s all you can eat! Eating a tub of Crisco with Tapatio sauce in front of the TV is healthier. Anyway, the food was OK, not bad but not too compelling. And if you’re wondering, I did not get a run of diarrhea afterward. It was more like that giant iceburg hurtling itself toward Australia.

9:30 pm

See’s Candies

1 dark chocolate toffee brittle

1 chocolate buttercream

10 pm

Wetzel’s Pretzel

1/2 large cherry lemonade

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

