Dec. 17, 2009

17 Dec

9:30 am

1 banana

12:45 pm

Pho Saigon

1 bowl of pho

1 egg roll

1/2 spring roll

1 can of Diet Coke

1 glass of water

This is the second time I’m eating pho this week, and the first time ever at a Korean-owned place. This is also the second time I’m eating at a mini-mall on the corner of 6th and Hobart in Los Angeles. In the words of Keanu Reeves, “Whoa…” This means that I really need to expand my horizons outside of the continent of Asia and beyond the intersection of 6th and Hobart. Pho Saigon is Korean-owned, and for some reason I went with a couple of Vietnamese friends. (as well as a loyal reader of this blog, Maybelle. Thanks!) Predictably, they didn’t like the food too much. They were right though, it was pretty bland. The broth was flavorless and required a shitload of hot sauce just to register sensations on the tongue. By then, the broth tasted like hot pepper sauce, which is very… Korean. Those sneaky bastards!

6 pm

Kyochon

5 fried chicken legs

1 bottle of Newcastle beer

This is actually my third consecutive meal from a mini-mall on 6th and Hobart. In the words of Keanu Reeves, “I’m an F! B! I! Agent!” Yes, I’m stretching. But it’s MY blog, dammit. BTW, my friend who lives near that intersection wanted a mention on this site. But I don’t know if she should be attributed with her diarrhea, so I’ll refrain. Anyway, Kyochon is awesome. Depending on my time of the month, it could be my favorite fried chicken chain in LA (Pollo Campero and Popeye’s being the other two candidates) A Kyochon fried chicken has the thinnest layer of batter that somehow packs an inordinate punch of garlic that will stink up your car and residence for days. Some of my fellow Korean friends might disagree and say it’s not as flavorful as some of the late-night bars, and they might be right. (OB Beer is still my favorite for Korean-style chicken in LA) But Kyochon does take out, and sometimes I don’t want chicken that is solely made to cut through alcohol. Kyochon is pungent enough, but you can still taste the chicken and a lingering sweetness from the glaze. I don’t need to drink alcohol with all my fried chicken meals. Although that Newcastle sure hit the spot.

7 pm

1 can of Diet Coke

9:30 pm

The Dime

2 bottle of Bud Light

Leave a Reply

