Jan. 9, 2010

9 Jan

9 am

1 bowl of Crunch Berries

The one thing that sucks about cereal is the powder at the bottom of the box when you get to the last bowl. It especially sucks for cereal like Crunch Berries. It’s like inhaling Pixy Stix, laced with LSD. Needless to say, I started my morning like this:

12 pm

tuna melt

handful of pretzels

1 can of Diet Coke

7 pm

3 eggplant slices with basil and mozzarella

side of tricolor fusilli pasta with tomato sauce

side of Greek salad

1 Trader Joe’s frozen creme brulee

2 Blue Moon Honey Moon beer

1 scoop of Ciao Bella blood orange sorbet

My friend Kim was nice enough to host a small dinner for a few friends. She made these eggplant slices topped with basil leaves that looked like a gondola with two mozzarella balls as passengers tucked in. The recipe came from some magazine, I think (Kim?) and it sure was tasty. She also topped it with a sprinkle of Hawaiian pink sea salt that punched up the flavor. Now I remember a simpler time when our only salt options were Morton’s iodized table salt. Now there’s Kosher, sea, Maldon, Hawaiian, gray… the list goes on and on. I have three kinds of salt (sea, kosher and pink) at home and none of them are from Morton’s. Am I happy with my more complicated lifestyle? Why yes. Sea salt kicks iodized salt’s ass every day of the week.

BTW, Kim and I realized that we are frighteningly good at the board game “Cranium.” I mean really, really good. We didn’t miss a clue until our piece was more than halfway around the board. So if you’re currently happy and content, I suggest you not invite us to play “Cranium.” We’d only upset your idyllic life by bringing sorrow and despair after the beating we’d inflict on your psyche.

Leave a Reply

