Jan. 20, 2010

20 Jan

10 am

1 bowl of Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds

12:30 pm

1 pan-fried chicken breast

side arugula salad

2 glasses of water

3 pm

Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf

1 small mocha latte

7 pm

grilled cheese (Taleggio cheese and cranberry-apple butter on wheat bread)

side arugula salad with tomatoes, fennel and apples

1 glass of water

January 20 was both National Cheese Lovers Day and National Penguin Awareness Day. I don’t know who decides which day commemorates what, but I want in. Maybe April 12, my birthday, can be National Eat With Joe Day. No wait, that marks the start of National Oral, Head and Neck Cancer Awareness Week. No one will want to eat with Joe if they have cancer in the neck. Oh well.

I decided to make a grilled cheese sandwich to commemorate cheese lovers like myself. For those of you who know me personally, you’re quite familiar with my past with the grilled cheese sandwich. Last April, I entered the Grilled Cheese Invitational, spent way too much on ingredients (my partner in the contest, Abigail, split the cost), recruited a 4-person-team and hoisted a ton of grilled cheese sandwiches on my friends as test subjects. After many hours of testing, I settled on my take on a Korean grilled cheese sandwich, with Abondance cheese (a French semi-hard cheese similar to sharp cheddar and Swiss), galbi jjim (braised Korean short ribs) and white kimchi made out of shallots on sesame bread. My friends all liked it and one of the judges, Eric Greenspan from the Foundry, said it was awesome. Unfortunately, I didn’t win anything and that event was a clusterfuck that I can’t recommend to anyone. It’s just a mass of hungry, dehydrated and very angry people who paid $5 for 1/4 sandwich if they’re lucky. Not fun at all.

Anyway, I’ve made a lot of grilled cheese sandwiches over the year and I’m pretty adept at making them. My sandwich today was infinitely simpler and tossed together with whatever I found in my fridge. Taleggio is a semi-soft Italian cheese that stinks like a white person’s dreadlocks. Despite the funky odor, Taleggio has a pleasingly mild taste and it melts very well. It’s one of my favorite cheeses to keep around. I also stole some Trader Joe’s cranberry apple butter from my roommate to add some tartness. As for the arugula salad, which you might have noticed in three consecutive meals, I made an impromptu salad for the previous night’s movie-and-pizza outing and had a lot left over. The vinaigrette is just acid (lemon juice yesterday, sherry vinegar today), olive oil, salt and pepper. Making dressing is infinitely better and cheaper than buying bottles, FYI. I also tossed in whatever I could find in the fridge, which in this case was a fennel, half a fuji apple and a tomato. It didn’t turn out that bad for a meal made out of resourcefulness, if anything.

10:30 pm

1 banana

1 glass of skim milk

handful of almonds

I um, also stole some almonds from my roommate.

Also, if I’m going to commemorate cheese lovers, I might as well do the same for penguins. It is, after all, National Penguin Awareness Day as well. Enjoy!

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

