Jan. 22, 2010

22 Jan

9 am

1 bowl of Honey Bunches of Oats with Almonds

1 pm

Al Wazir Chicken

1 chicken shawerma plate (with side of rice, hummus, side salad, 2 pita breads)

20 oz. bottle of Coke Zero

I’m now getting to the point where I’m repeating posts about certain places. I’ve gotten to Al Wazir a hundred times in the 10 years I’ve lived off Beachwood Canyon, so I’ll link to my original post about this place. I can instantly tell whether my chicken shawerma will be good or bad by looking at the giant spit of rotating shawerma. If it’s charred to a rust color (it looks more pleasant than how I described it), it’ll be good. If it’s all white, then the shawerma will be bland and rubbery. Today’s meal was bland and rubbery. Blah.

7 pm

1 bowl of bibimbap

1 glass of water

Bibimbap is the perfect dish for my lifestyle. Throw a bunch of random vegetables into a bowl of rice, top with a fried egg, and mix with gochujang and sesame oil. The picture above is a terrible-looking version of bibimbap. It’s made up of odds and ends I picked up from a supermarket. I also fried that egg too hard because I lost track of cooking it. If you get a real version from restaurants or better yet, parents, the vegetables are intricately arranged into a color wheel, with a bright-yellow egg yolk acting as the spoke. There are many varieties. Dol sot bibimbap is probably the most popular. It comes in a hot stone pot that scalds the rice at the bottom of the bowl into crunchy bits. It’s probably my favorite Korean dish, but damn if I’m heating a stone pot by myself. There’s also hae dup bop, rice topped with sashimi slices, and al bap, which is a bowl of rice frosted with different kinds of fish roe. All those are good too, but much too unwieldy for a meal for one at home. I’ll just concentrate on frying an egg properly and go from there.

Leave a Reply

