Feb. 12, 2010

12 Feb

10 am

1 bowl of Chocolate Cheerios

1 pm

1 bottle of cranberry juice

6:30 pm

Oaks Gourmet

cheeseburger

side of cole slaw

1 20 oz. bottle of Coke Zero

LAist recently listed what they thought were their top five burgers in Los Angeles, and I was surprised to see my neighborhood store Oak’s Gourmet on the list, at #5. I’ve worked my way through 1/3 of their lineup, but haven’t gotten to Oak’s burger, and since I skipped lunch today, it was a good a time as any to try it. I have to say, that burger is pretty good. They take the formula standardized by Father’s Office (prime beef, stinky cheese, grilled onions and bacon) and pump it with steroids. Oak’s burger doesn’t use just any cheese, they go with Cambozola, a hybrid of triple creme and gorgonzola that’s both fatty, pungent and overwhelming. When melted it has a pronounced musk typical of moldy rinds. It takes a lot of flavors to cut through Cambozola, and Oak’s throws in bacon, grilled onions and a pineapple/jalapeno compote, that can also overwhelm. The only way you can actually taste the beef is by offering a lot of it, and they use a monstrous 1/2 pound dry-aged beef patty where the quality shines through. Sometimes, this burger is too pungent, or salty, or sweet. But there are bites when all the strong flavors come together, and those moments are great. This burger is both exhilarating and exhausting. I do crave it again, but don’t know when I’ll be able to get myself to tackle it . It’s an experience you’re better off sharing.

11:30 pm

3 mini cupcakes

2:30 am

1/2 slice Tombstone’s pepperoni pizza

My friend Tim was baking two frozen pizza and I asked if I could have some. “Is this going to appear on your food blog?” he asked. “Of course,” I replied. “OK then, take a piece.” So here you go. A shout-out. Thanks for the pizza, my good man.

Leave a Reply

