Feb. 14, 2010

14 Feb

12 pm

2 chocolate chip cookies

5 pm

dduk guk

various banchan

1 glass of water

Feb. 14 is Valentine’s Day but it’s also Korean New Years, which shares the same date as Chinese New Years. Hmm, maybe all Asians are alike. Actually, Korean New Years is derivative from Chinese New Year traditions, hence the shared date. Almost all Asian countries celebrate some sort of New Years around that time and can trace their roots to Chinese traditions. Unlike the Chinese, who stretch out their New Year celebration over 15 days, drag around a giant paper dragon and blow up semi-legal fireworks, Koreans celebrate a more modest affair centered on filial traditions. Children salute their parents who get rewarded with some money and advice, and parents salute grandparents, even in passing. The traditional dish is tteokguk, a soup with rice cakes and beef brisket. It’s often garnished with nori and cooked eggs. The slivers of rice cake is cut from a long tube of dough that signifies good health and long life. Tteokguk is traditionally eaten whenever a year passes, both for New Years and birthdays. It’s a relatively simple dish and somewhat bland (I like to add a lot of salt to mine). But it’s very comforting and carries quite a bit of significance to Koreans.

11 pm

2 IPA beers

You might have noticed that I’ve only been eating one meal a day. That’s because I’ve been taking some medication that lowered my appetite. I’m also not allowed to drink alcohol and was highly advised to not have sex for the time being. Just in time for Valentine’s Day! Sigh. Sorry, I won’t share my diagnosis, except to say that it’s not serious and it’s not an STD. I did drink a couple of beers tonight because I was out for Valentine’s Day and figured it is a holiday. The combination of beer and prescription medication knocked me out as soon as I got home. Since I can’t have sex, that’s probably for the best.

2 Responses to “Feb. 14, 2010”

  1. bobby ray February 16, 2010 at 6:29 pm #

    did you get any money? I don’t anymore since I’m shacked up…….

  2. Joe February 16, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    I got $10 for half a tank of gas.

Leave a Reply

