March 27, 2010

27 Mar

10 am

1 banana

1 glass of water

1 pm

Yogurtland

a big tub of yogurt

various fruit toppings

When it comes to frozen yogurt, I’m officially a convert to Yogurtland. It’s a lot cheaper than Pinkberry. I can also pile on as many different flavors as my imagination see fit. Yuzu, red velvet cake, pistachio and chocolate? Fit for a God! Speaking of using the lord’s name in vain, I try to build my yogurt and fruit toppings like the Tower of Babel, openly defying God’s conventions of gravity and ambition. No omnipotent being can tell me what not to put in my frozen yogurt! And of course, God smites my yogurt structure right before I place it on the scale and sends pineapple chunks spilling everywhere. That’s what I get for sacrilegious hubris.

7:15 pm

1 chocolate cupcake

lemonade

In honor of my rollerskating endeavors, here are five rollerskating songs:

Vaughan Mason & Crew “Bounce, Rock, Skate, Roll”

De La Soul “A Rollerskating Jam Named Saturdays”

Dire Straits “Skateaway”

Olivia Newton-John and Electric Light Orchestra “Xanadu”

And the one song I always associate with roller skating…

Bay City Rollers “Saturday Night”

9 pm

Colombo’s Italian Steakhouse

fried calamari

1 glass of house chardonnay

several pieces of complimentary garlic bread

Colombo’s is the type of clubby Italian restaurant where Henry Hill might sneak his date through the kitchen. Booths are huge, the leather is red, the interior is heavy woods stained to dark colors and there’s live entertainment that drowns out conversations. If there was ever a restaurant for The Sopranos’ abrupt ending to continue, Colombo’s would be that place.. The menu is classically Italian-American with big steaks, heavy pastas, large plates of chicken piccatas and no real surprises. I wasn’t too hungry and limited myself to an order of fried calamari. The breading clumped together, but the calamari was cooked to a perfect consistency. My friend’s all ordered pasta, enjoyed their meals and had quite a bit of leftovers for the following day.

11 pm

1 screwdriver

3 cans of Bud Light and/or Tecate

4 pieces of Hershey’s Minature chocolates

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

