April 8, 2010 – Recipe for a Korean BBQ Marinade, and Coolhaus Ice Cream Sandwiches

8 Apr

2 pm

Subway

foot-long Subway Club on wheat

bag of sour cream Baked Lays

medium Diet Coke

8 pm

1 rib-eye steak with Korean marinade

fusilli col boco salad with baby asparagus

caesar salad

2 cans of Pabst Blue Ribbon

I was actually supposed to make steaks for four people on Tuesday, but two dropped out at the last second. So, my friend Lucy was the beneficiary of the other two pieces. “So how are you going to marinate the steaks,” she asked and I didn’t really have an answer. I like my steak simple, with just salt and pepper and cooked rare. At first, I was just going to cook it unadorned, since I was the chef. But I became intrigued by the idea and decided on a Korean BBQ marinade. Lucy likes Korean food, I’m Korean, so why not. It’s an extremely simple concept: two parts soy sauce, 1 part sugar, a good dose of sesame oil and two of the base Asian Aromatics (garlic and scallions. Ginger is optional). That’s the basic component, and other ingredients can be added to that as well.

1 1/2 cup soy sauce

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 sesame oil

5 cloves of garlic, minced

3 green onions, chopped thinly

1/2 yellow onion, sliced into thin strips

teaspoon of chili flakes

small handful of sesame seeds

I like my marinade on the sweeter side, so I’ll often add half an Asian pear or Fuji apple, grated, and a couple of shots of plum wine, if I have that around. Both are optional ingredients though and not necessary. I like the extra caramelization from the added sugar, so I tend to make my marinade sweeter than most. A lot of recipes call for meats to be marinaded overnight. I only do 8-10 hours at most, so it won’t get too overwhelming. And you can use this on other types of meat as well. Flank steak, chicken, pork, shrimp, mushrooms, old Chuck Taylors, adopted babies, it’ll work on almost anything.

So there you go. You can now replicate the stink of having your clothes smell like a Korean BBQ restaurant at home. It did at Lucy’s apartment. Glad her smoke detectors didn’t actually work!

10 pm

Coolhaus

ice cream sandwich with brown butter-bacon ice cream and snickerdoodle cookies

This is what happens when I skip breakfast. After a giant steak dinner, I craved a Coolhaus ice cream sandwich for some reason. Of all the food trucks that fan out over LA, I’ve never actually been to Coolhaus before. But, I did sign up for their Twitter feed for some reason, and I saw that they had a “foie gras honey gastrique” ice cream sandwich.  “That sounds terrible,” Lucy said. “It does,” I agreed. “I think we should go and try it out though.” (ED NOTE: Lucy is good friends with the owners of Coolhaus) So I dragged her to their location in downtown LA and completely forgot that it was Art Walk. On the first Thursday of every month, all the various downtown LA art galleries open their doors and encourage people to gallery hop, and it’s an absolute clusterfuck. Thousands of people storm the sidewalks, ducking in and out of galleries and trying to find booze where they can. But as fate would have it, we found free parking. The foie gras ice cream sandwich ended up being twice as much as their regular fare, so I cheaped out. When I asked for a sample, the girl at the truck quickly shot me down. Ah well. The brown-butter and bacon ice cream was appropriately decadent and hit the spot.

Since we had free parking, we decided to check out a few galleries and inevitably ended up breezing through bars, restaurants, random apartments and a fire escape with weed-tokin’ hippies. And with that, I’m going to mention Martin Scorsese movie “After Hours,” since that captures the absurdity of the night best.

UPDATE: Lucy also wrote about this night. So many blogs!

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

