April 15, 2010 – Capriotti’s Bobbie Sandwich

15 Apr

10 am

1 bowl of Frosted Flakes

2 pm

Capriotti’s

medium “The Bobbie” sandwich

medium Coke Zero

There are only three things I know about Delaware; it was our first state, unibrowed Baltimore Ravens quarterback Joe Flacco played college football there and they have a sandwich chain called Capriotti’s that inspires a cultish devotion among some East Coast transplants. What In-N-Out is to us on the West Coast, Capriotti’s is to the Delaware shores. But while In-N-Out will probably never make it east of Arizona and Utah, Capriotti’s is expanding west as if on a Manifest Destiny, sans the Indian genocide. For some reason, there are now 30 Capriotti’s in Las Vegas. This might’ve been the most creative way to settle a gambling debt. Outside of Delaware and Las Vegas though, there are only a smattering of stores in random states. So if you ever wanted to try a Capriotti’s sandwich to see what the hype was about, the odds are that you were shit out of luck.

Lucky for me, two Capriotti’s opened in Los Angeles this past month, so it was high times for me to see what the hype was about. Their signature sandwich is called “The Bobbie,” and it’s essentially Thanksgiving in a hoagie roll. It consists of turkey, cornbread stuffing, cranberry and mayo and it’s EXACTLY what I eat for three days in a row after Thanksgiving. The only difference between Capriotti’s sandwich and mine is that I use sliced bread instead of a roll, and I sometimes like to drench mine with gravy. But most of the times, I also just stick to turkey, stuffing, cranberries and mayo. I could see why people like this place. They actually roast a whole turkey as opposed to buying a packaged enlarged breast that’s been injected with saline solution. The shreds of turkey at Capriotti’s is exactly the same as the one your dad butchered because of his inability to use the electric carver. That instantly makes Capriotti’s meat better than other sandwich chains. I enjoyed my sandwich, considering Thanksgiving leftover sandwiches are one of my favorite things to eat. At the same time, I didn’t love the Bobbie because it’s something I could and did replicate. The only difference is that I could eat this turkey sandwich at any time of the year. I heard Capriotti’s makes a mean roast beef though, and their cheese steak is supposed to be awesome. I also saw someone eating an eggplant parmigiana while ordering and I almost jacked it from him, a la Air Jordans circa 1990. I’m actually impressed by Capriotti’s ability to perfectly replicate a homemade turkey sandwich and I’m willing to give the other ones a try. Even if what they recreated is essentially leftovers.

3:30

Starbucks

1 cup of coffee

1 petite vanilla scone

I’m not a huge fan of Starbucks coffee. It’s too acidic for me. What I am a fan of is free coffee, and that’s what Starbucks gave out on Tax Day if you brought a recyclable container. I used my red E! mug from my previous job that I’ve used for almost two years now. I also haven’t cleaned it in almost a year. There’s a lot of history in that mug. It means a lot to me.

10 pm

2 roast chicken breasts

side of white rice

1 glass of water

Bookmark and Share

4 Responses to “April 15, 2010 – Capriotti’s Bobbie Sandwich”

  1. Erin Coates (TheHealthyApron.com) April 16, 2010 at 1:58 pm #

    Never heard of that place but I HAVE been to IN and OUT burger in Las Vegas and I must say…not sure what all the hype is about. That being said, I’m not a fast food junkie either lol.

  2. bobby ray April 16, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    I know I have the interwebs, but you need to start linking/listing locations of the establishments.

  3. Joe April 16, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    Any word(s) that’s underlined is a link that’ll take you to the establishment.

  4. Lisa April 16, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

    Love Capriotti’s. There is one next to my office and I ate there a lot while I was pregnant, but that was before I got gestational diabetes. Connection?

Leave a Reply

