April 22, 2010 – Izakaya Haru Ulala

22 Apr

Like This!

1 pm

Souplantation

lots of crap

strawberry lemonade

7:30

Izakaya Haru Ulala

shared grilled whole squid

deep-fried tofu

pork kakuni (belly)

1 piece of fried oyster

edamame

1 large bottle of Sapporo beer

It was “lemon month” at Souplantation. I didn’t notice while eating there because I just shoved food in my mouth indiscriminately. All the salads tasted the same to me. Unfortunately, I did a little too much shoveling and ruined my appetite for dinner. But I was supposed to meet a friend I haven’t seen a while, so I decided on Izakaya Haru Ulala, where we could theoretically graze off small plates of food and use the act of eating as an excuse to talk. That’s not a slight on Haru Ulala, it’s one of the better izakayas in Los Angeles. But if we’re only going to nibble, we might as well eat something tasty. Ordering four small plates seemed like logical enough, but we completely misjudged the portion size. Everything was huge and we probably could’ve shared with two more people. The whole grilled squid was a foot long and stretched out in the center of the table. It was crusted with salt, charred crisp and completely addictive. My friend loved it. The pork kakuni was a huge hunk of pork and fat glazed with a soy reduction and braised to a soft, but still chewy consistency. It was also good, but too rich to eat a lot of. The tofu was nice and bland, but the oysters were heavily breaded and clumpy. The waitress highly recommended the braised cow tongue. I was a bit curious, but we stayed overly safe and stuck to more comforting fare. I guess you It was a good meal, and we didn’t even come close to finishing everything. Ah well. At least we grazed to our heart’s content.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

