May 1, 2010 – Shabu Shabu at Home

1 May

9:30 am

1 banana

1 pm

1 burger

1 chicken breast

side potato salad

side mac n’ cheese

side spinach salad

Coca-Cola

I’m writing a guest blog for my friend Muldo this week. I decided that this meal will be the basis for a 1,000-word post. You can read more about it later this week. This meal was for my friend Sherry and Rich’s co-ed baby shower. I didn’t think I ate a lot when I was there. Everything fit on one plate. But after typing it all out? Yeah, I’m a pig. Oh well.

7 pm

shabu shabu

2 cans of Asahi beer

1 glass of shochu

I’m not a huge fan of shabu shabu. Something about the thought of eating boiled meat that seems underwhelming to me. I’ve gone many times though, thanks to two of my friends who do like it and have taken me to various restaurants. But I heard that shabu shabu, if done properly, can be great. So I was curious when my friends Rob and Yuki decided to throw a shabu shabu dinner party. I visualized this to be like a Japanese-inflected 70’s fondue party, straight out of the “Ice Storm,” without the key bowl (thankfully). What awaited us was a massive array of meats, beef, pork slices, pork belly, chicken, shrimp and oysters, as well as leafy vegetables, carrots and shiitake mushrooms. This made for a much more interesting cooking broth, and it solved my main issue with shabu shabu, flavorless boiled meat. It takes high-quality ingredients and a deft touch (ie, not boiling your food to tasteless rubber) to enjoy it. Shabu shabu is the one-pot meal that keeps on feeding. After you cook the meats and vegetables in the boiling water, you then throw udon noodle in the broth for the next course. I ate too much at the end and enjoyed the experience.

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

